Mohawk/Behlen lacquer

TEST ON SCRAP FIRST! If your question is about repair work, either regluing or refinishing, please post it in our Repair Section.
Joel Nowland

Mohawk/Behlen lacquer

Post by Joel Nowland »

Mohawk/Behlen instrument lacquer.

Has or does anyone on the forum use Behlen/Mohawk instrument lacquer?

How do you like it? How does it compare to other lacquers you have used?

Joel
Stephen Neal Saqui

Re: Mohawk/Behlen lacquer

Post by Stephen Neal Saqui »

I've been using it for 2-3 years.
Definitely get the sealer along with it which really does it's job!
I pretty much follow the directions. After the final thinned gloss coat I keep the guitar warm (75 to 80 degrees) for 1 1/2 to two weeks before rubbing it out. Then I use a series of Micro-mesh before putting it to the buffer.

Overall it does take more time than catalyzed finish and I like to keep it thin so that requires more shooting, sanding and filling. The end product is classy though. I like it.

However, I'd like to try the new catalyzed finishes to lessen the time factor if they have the depth and can be kept from being too thick.
Wayne Brown

Post by Wayne Brown »

I've been using it for 9 -10 years. I can buy it locally and it's manufactured up the road from here. I have always had good results in my finishes.
Todd Stock

Post by Todd Stock »