Understanding flute tuning

Adam Beaudoin

Understanding flute tuning

Post by Adam Beaudoin »

I'm new to making wind instruments, and have started with simple bamboo whistles. I'm running into some trouble understanding the process of tuning.

So, while the math is beyond me, I basically understand the existence of end corrections & acoustic length vs physical bore length. What I don't quite get is how the placement of tone holes is correlated with their pitches. I pretty much anticipated the placement being similar to dividing a string by ratios (I'm assuming a just intonation relative to the fundamental), but offset in one direction – I think away from the mouthpiece? – to account for the acoustic length of the air column. But that doesn't seem to match with the results I'm getting from a flutomat style calculator (https://whistlemaker.com/calculator). For example, when plugging in my values (.5" bore diameter, .15625" wall thickness, .07sq" area of flue opening, fundamental at – really just flat of – E329.63Hz) and using their default 6-hole scale, the sixth hole (D#622.26Hz) is calculated at 10.47" (presumably from the end of the physical bore length, as there's no reference to the acoustic length or the amount of end correction). This seems wrong to me, as the entire length of this flute is under 11".

So, is there something about the nature of cylinders that supercedes the usual ratios of a divided string? Am I making an error in filling out the calculator? Is that calculator wrong? I'd imagine that the disconnect comes from some mis- or incomplete understanding on my end, but I can't see what.
Jim McConkey

Re: Understanding flute tuning

Post by Jim McConkey »

Before I even get started, in my experience none of these flute calculators is very exact. They should get you in the ballpark, but you always have to fine tune.