need to replace a bow tip

If you have a string instrument of any kind that needs fixing, a mistake you made in building a new instrument that you need to "disappear," or a question about the ethics of altering an older instrument, ask here. Please note that it will be much easier for us to help you decide on the best repair method if you post some pictures of the problem.
Dick Hutchings

need to replace a bow tip

Post by Dick Hutchings »

I can't seem to find step by step solution to this problem. I hope somebody here can help me thanks.
Dick Hutchings
Dick Hutchings
Steve Senseney

Re: need to replace a bow tip

Post by Steve Senseney »

I have no experience with bow tip repair, but a picture would help who ever offers information.
Dick Hutchings

Post by Dick Hutchings »

I'm just talking about the plastic and ebony cap. My plan is to glue it on with CA, shape it, drill a hole where the mortise is and square it up with a knife or chisel. Is this the correct way to do it?
Dick Hutchings
Fred Marcuson

Post by Fred Marcuson »

Dick Hutchings wrote:I'm just talking about the plastic and ebony cap. My plan is to glue it on with CA, shape it, drill a hole where the mortise is and square it up with a knife or chisel. Is this the correct way to do it?
that's pretty much it :)
i always used white glue to glue it on though . some times it was a black fiber instead of ebony . the white glue was easier to use than the ca , it didn't soak into the fiber as much .
shape the cap hole to match the 'plug' used to hold the hair in ..
Dick Hutchings

Post by Dick Hutchings »

fred marcuson wrote:
Dick Hutchings wrote:I'm just talking about the plastic and ebony cap. My plan is to glue it on with CA, shape it, drill a hole where the mortise is and square it up with a knife or chisel. Is this the correct way to do it?
that's pretty much it :)