Would you rework the first guitar you built?

If you have a string instrument of any kind that needs fixing, a mistake you made in building a new instrument that you need to "disappear," or a question about the ethics of altering an older instrument, ask here. Please note that it will be much easier for us to help you decide on the best repair method if you post some pictures of the problem.
Perry Underwood

Would you rework the first guitar you built?

Post by Perry Underwood »

I completed my first electric guitar while I was a student in the guitar building and repair program in Red Wing, Minnesota. Since that time, I've actually played the guitar very little because it has been in storage for the last 10+ years. Now I have it with me and have been playing it more.

There are some things I would like to change about the guitar, but part of me feels that it is a record of where I was at that time as an aspiring builder. Recently, I did do a few things to make it play better, such as putting a better nut on it and leveling the frets again. There are, however, some stylistic changes I would like to make--at least part of me wants to make them.

Has anyone on the forum gone back and reworked the first instrument they built? Any regrets?

Here's a photo of the guitar. I was into a very minimalist point of view at that time.

Beate Ritzert

Re: Would you rework the first guitar you built?

Post by Beate Ritzert »

I did and am actually making changes to my early builds. These mostly regard improvements / corrections of its limitations or flaws, like the sound tuning of my archtop i am currently doing.
But i tend to respect the instrument in its identity.