Cracked top body - Takamine GS330S

If you have a string instrument of any kind that needs fixing, a mistake you made in building a new instrument that you need to "disappear," or a question about the ethics of altering an older instrument, ask here. Please note that it will be much easier for us to help you decide on the best repair method if you post some pictures of the problem.
Matthew Nepacena

Cracked top body - Takamine GS330S

Post by Matthew Nepacena »

Hi everyone, first post here:P
I recently found out that my beloved and favorite guitar (Takamine GS330S) has some cracks on the top of the body. I honestly have no idea how it happened, I just opened the softcase one day and it was cracked. I was/am devastated. I've never tried to repair a guitar before nor have I any experience in doing so. Can anyone offer me some advice? I'm too scared to level out the top because one portion is like lodged under the other tightly. I got a quote from a guitar repair store (CB Perkins in San Jose) for an $85-$125 cost of repair. I was wondering if it's possible to do it on my own for cheaper or if anyone on here could possibly do it for me for a cheaper price :( I'll attach some pictures, please any help is appreciated and needed!

Thank you!
Mark Swanson

Re: Cracked top body - Takamine GS330S

Post by Mark Swanson »

That is a nasty crack, and the guitar has taken a pretty big hit to do that kind of damage. the price you have quoted there seems low to me.
I am pretty sure that there would be some bracing broken free of the top underneath, was that checked? It would take a mirror and a light to see inside to check the braces.
  • Mark Swanson, guitarist, MIMForum Staff
Matthew Nepacena

Do you think I should get it repaired or just sell it? I'm really tight on funds being in college and all so that amount of money is kinda a lot to me:/ How much do you think I could get for this guitar if I decide to sell?
Clay Schaeffer

Post by Clay Schaeffer »

Hi Matthew,