Rebuilding an old Hungarian Citera

If it's not a guitar or a bass guitar discussion, and it's got strings, put it here.
Peter Bryan

Rebuilding an old Hungarian Citera

Post by Peter Bryan »

I am new to the MIMF so I'll start by saying "Hello" to everyone.

My daughter found this old Citera at a garage sale and bought it for me. Though I've had some experience with guitars, and autoharps, this is the first time I've ever seen a Citera. I am interested in where I might be able to find parts (if you look at the pictures I'll attach, you can see some of the tuning keys are in terrible shape and some are broken off in the body). I also have no idea what kind of strings this instrument takes. They look almost like banjo strings.

As you can see from the pictures, this instrument only has a single fretboard, unlike most that I have seen that have a double fretboard.

Any help or advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Peter
Attachments
P1060384 (2).JPG
P1060383 (2).JPG
P1060382 (2).JPG
P1060381 (2).JPG
Jim McConkey

Re: Rebuilding an old Hungarian Citera

Post by Jim McConkey »

Welcome to the Forum, Peter!

Very similar to some old German hummels. Most modern instruments use square tuning pegs. I don't know anyone who makes these flat ones. You might have to take a hammer to the end of a screw and make your own.

The strings, at least over the fretboard, would be very similar to modern dulcimer strings, I would guess 0.008 to 0.020" kind of range. There are on-line string calculators you can use, if you know the pitch. The drones are probably bigger, but I don't know how they were tuned. What is the length of the instrument between the two rods at the ends? See below for some links on tuning.

Try just plain water, or with a couple drops of mild dish soap to clean the instrument up. Just wet the surface and rub with a rag, then wipe off all excess moisture.

Here are a couple resources on tuning: