Dulcimer sides

If it's not a guitar or a bass guitar discussion, and it's got strings, put it here.
Mark Wybierala

Dulcimer sides

Post by Mark Wybierala »

Due to an inspiration from a very recent post I'm making a dulcimer. Mostly curly maple but the top is Spanish cedar. Except for the top, everything else is coming out of a fairly nice 5/4 plank of curly maple. I've bent sides for a guitar using a fox bender but I'm going to be roughing it for the dulcimer. I saw a youtube video of someone steaming maple using a hotplate and a length of 8" galvanized ducting about 3 ft long. He just put water in a 4qt pan, put the 8" ducting upright in the pan, and hung the sides in the ducting hanging from a cap. 10 to 15 minutes in the steamer from a boil??? This seem simple enough. I've built a two-part full width form to achieve the curves. I also have a heated bending block if I need back up but I've never used it before. I anticipate a little complication from the busy-ness of the maple gain pattern.

What is a good thickness for curly maple sides? My thickness planer is getting a bit of tear-out from the curly... I have a mill nearby with a thickness sander that can very nicely thin these to size for a dozen donuts. I'm thinkin' 1 3/4 tall sides.
Bryan Bear

Re: Dulcimer sides

Post by Bryan Bear »

I have never personally used a steam box to bend sides but have read post warning against it. The most compelling reason seems applicable in your case, curly wood. . . soaking in steam can introdouce too much moisture making the figure (which is just severe localized runnout) "delaminate." That said, dulcimer sides don't have super tight curves. If you have already made the forms, why not just fit them in the bender and use your blanket?

Edit:

Keep in mind, this is not first hand experience. If someone comes along who has done this and has a technique, listen to them not me.
PMoMC

Take care of your feet and your feet will take care of you.
Mark Wybierala