Benedetto Archtop Build

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including fixing errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Ron Sommers

Benedetto Archtop Build

Post by Ron Sommers »

Hi all, this is my first attempt at constructing a guitar.

Thought I'd document the process.

Got the book a few years ago and am finally getting around to it.

I've made 5 violins to date, so it couldn't be much different than a cello in size, so why not give it a go?

Reading several blogs I learned one couldn't make it from the book alone, so I bought the plans.

The plans are in greater detail, but I think I could have made it from the book. I made violin arching templates from the Sacconi book with what the Benedetto book provides.

How I did it was to mark off the arching templates using a millimeter ruler by sliding the ruler until I hit 10 mm, or 11, 12, 13, etc. (I didn't want to deal with half 0.5 mm's). I then traced the shape to paper and finally to an aluminum sheet. Cut the shape out and I had a durable template.

For the archtop, I used the same method and transferred the arches to the body using a triangle and a straight edge. I then "connect the dots".

see 'transfer' jpg. below

I'll then 'transfer' the drawn lines to the wood, then drill holes etc.

I have the Benedetto plans and decided to do the same thing, however, there appears to be a conflict in the drawings!

If you'll notice the back Arching Layout jpg (from the bottom to top it starts at "A", "B" etc.)?
Looking at Arching "B" center it's 24 mm, but when you look at the side view to the left of the body it doesn't show 24 mm, but 22 mm! Find the '22' at the bottom, then scroll up to the center line. Same for the "D" arching. It says '24' but the side arch shows '22'.

see 'arching' jpg