Steinberger gearless tuners

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including "disappearing" errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
John Clifford

Steinberger gearless tuners

Post by John Clifford »

Has anyone here used these on a guitar with a regular peghead? I'm interested in trying them on my next solid-body electric, but they're kinda pricey and I'm wondering how well they really work.

https://www.stewmac.com/Hardware_and_Pa ... uners.html
Brian Evans

Re: Steinberger gearless tuners

Post by Brian Evans »

I'm wondering how they work, it's kind of hard to have a gear ratio (40:1) without a gear... Probably planetary, I figure.
Barry Daniels

Post by Barry Daniels »

It is a threaded post.
MIMF Staff
Brian Evans

Post by Brian Evans »

That makes sense. The tuning knob sucks the string lock down, tightening the string. As an engineer I object to the description of a 40:1 tuning ratio, it might have 40 TPI threads, but as the driven post does not turn, there is no ratio.

Edit: but there is an equivalent ratio. If they indeed use a 40 tpi thread (very common, used in all imperial micrometers) one turn begets .025" of post movement, hence string longer or shorter by .025". To get .025" of string movement on a notional worm geared tuning machine, with a post diameter of .200" (about close to right) you'd look for a 25:1 gear ratio. Alternatively, if you wanted to have the equivalent of a 40:1 worm gear with a .200" post using threads, you have 63.7 TPI.
Ian Petersen

Post by Ian Petersen »

Has anyone here used these on a guitar with a regular peghead?