My first inlay

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including "disappearing" errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Steve Sawyer

My first inlay

Post by Steve Sawyer »

Not too bad!!

This is a test piece - some hickory I had laying around, planed to the same 3/16" thickness as the FB I'm going to do (in ebony) on the current build. I've never done inlay so I wanted to do a few before starting to mess with the actual FB. I bought a set of gold MOP Les Paul inlays from DePaul Supply, plus some gold MOP blanks to play with. I scribed the outline of the 3rd-fret inlay onto one of the blanks, cut it out and shaped it, then proceeded with the inlay using a Dremel, a StewMac router base and a couple of carbide spiral downcut bits I got from Lee Valley. Finished it off with some modeler's chisels and voila! It stands proud between 0.016" and 0.028" so I think it needs a little more work to get it to settle evenly into place. It is also just a scrunch skewed, but I'm not sure how obvious that would be once strings and frets are in place, but I'll try to improve that. Once I do a few more, I should be ready for the real thing.
First Inlay.JPG
==Steve==
Gordon Bellerose

Re: My first inlay

Post by Gordon Bellerose »

I have found with block inlay, that if I clamp some guides for the router base, I can keep things square.
I need your help. I can't possibly make all the mistakes myself!
Steve Sawyer

Post by Steve Sawyer »

Gordon Bellerose wrote:I have found with block inlay, that if I clamp some guides for the router base, I can keep things square.