Newbie Here!!....Started my very 1st build....

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including "disappearing" errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Frank Lima

Newbie Here!!....Started my very 1st build....

Post by Frank Lima »

Hi Everyone,
Frank here! I've been wanting to build a guitar for the longest time, and just recently started to make my first. I decided to make an SG style. I have an extensive background in woodworking, but unfortunately I have never picked up a guitar in my life, so I do not play. I simply choose to make one because I thought it would be a challenging project......and the little research I've done is telling me I'm correct - lol. Anyway, I'm hoping to get some good advice here and also get good building tips and techniques. While I do not have any specialized guitar making tools, I do have what you would expect in an average woodworking shop. So far I'm most of the way into the body of the guitar, but I do know the majority of the work is in the neck and fretboard. The attached pic shows the body so far.....made with a couple of pieces of burl surrounded by epoxy resin (still rough sanded until I'm done with all the cavities, of course). I also cutout a cavity for the neck and partial cavity for the pickups. Looking forward to digging into these posts! Any feedback based on the pic would be great!

Thanks,
Frank
57726490_10158254862469186_9203146361548046336_o.jpg
Gordon Bellerose

Re: Newbie Here!!....Started my very 1st build....

Post by Gordon Bellerose »

Welcome to the forum Frank!
I like the epoxy around wood idea, been thinking of try one myself.

The biggest mistakes in a first build usually happen in the routing stage, or in the neck line up/scale length stage.
Are you building from a guitar that you have access to for measurements?
I need your help. I can't possibly make all the mistakes myself!
Frank Lima

Post by Frank Lima »