Bonding metal to wood

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including "disappearing" errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Dennis Ragosa

Bonding metal to wood

Post by Dennis Ragosa »

I'm a new member, and a first time builder, and I am glad to have found this forum. For my first attempt at instrument building, I have decided to use a replica Tele body, reshaped to my liking, and a semi-finished neck, also custom shaped. My design will use a metal pick guard, and I would like to use the same metal, decoratively, on the peg head, but bond it instead of using fasteners. Has anyone done this before? If so what adhesive did you use? Was it durable? If anyone has any ideas or experience with this, I sure would like to hear from you.
Patrick Hanna

Re: Bonding metal to wood

Post by Patrick Hanna »

Hey, Dennis, I am no expert here, but in the general scheme of things, it's not terribly difficult to bond metal to wood. If you would post some details about your concept (for example, a metal head plate? Metal inlays?) I think you will receive very helpful responses from our members. With regard to your pickguard, please include your thoughts about how you would provide future access to pickup and wiring routs in the body after your pickguard is bonded to the wood. This will be an important consideration. Please do include specifics about your wood and metal choices, so that you can receive appropriate advice. If you will fill in these details, I think you'll receive good answers.
Best regards,
Patrick
Dennis Ragosa

Post by Dennis Ragosa »

My apologies for being vague. The pickguard will be made of aluminum, and will be fixed to the body with screws. I would like to use aluminum on the peg head, but I would like to bond it, so as not to weaken the peg head by more drilling. My neck wood is maple. Hope this fills in the gaps from my last post
Bob Gramann

Post by Bob Gramann »