Please help: neck reshape: yes or no

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including fixing errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
jorge rodriguez

Please help: neck reshape: yes or no

Post by jorge rodriguez »

Hi all,

I've been a member of the forum for a while but it's been long since I last posted something. I have a doubt regarding acoustic guitar modification and I hope someone can help.

I am an amateur builder and repairman. This is not my way of living but I learnt building with two different luthiers here in Barcelona, Spain, and have since built a few instruments. One of them is an acoustic dreadnought guitar that I built about five years ago. This instrument has a nice big, bassy sound and plenty of volume and I love it. The only thing I would change now is the neck profile. It is kind of U shaped and feels too big. It is playable and I've always played it as is, but I can't help thinking that with more of a D profile it would be a lot more comfortable. So I keep thinking about reshaping the neck and removing some wood from the shoulders of the neck. I don't think it would be necessary to remove a lot of wood.

So my doubts are basically two:

- Would the modification change the guitar sound/tone/volume? If there is any chance that the change affects negatively I would probably not do it. It is a very special guitar for me, so I don't want to risk it.

- The finish is nitro. If I wanted to do it, would I have to remove the finish from the whole neck?, or would it be ok to remove it only where necessary and then refinish the affected parts? The finish is transparent, it has no stain or pigment.

I know there is no 100% sure answer to the first question, but I would like to know the feedback from anyone with experience in the subject.

Thanks in advance!

Jorge
Barry Daniels

Re: Please help: neck reshape: yes or no

Post by Barry Daniels »