Your Booze of Choice

The place to chat with your fellow MIMForum members about whatever you want that doesn't relate to instruments, or isn't specific to one instrument family. Pull up a chair, grab a cold one out of the virtual 'fridge, and tell your friends what's on your mind.
Douglas Ketellapper

Your Booze of Choice

Post by Douglas Ketellapper »

So I know Mario is a homebrewer, which I am as well. It's something I'm pretty good at having been brewing for over 25 years. But, I don't know that beer would be the one thing I'd drink if I had the choice of only one. I was a winemaker as well after college where I studied brewing and winemaking, and I love wine, but again, if limited to a single choice, I'm not sure I'd pick just wine. When it comes to spirits, I've loved good Tequila and Mezcal for a long time. Something about the combination of Tequila and lime, or sipping a good Anejo or Reposado that I love. Now that I've married a Puerto Rican, I've started appreciating really good rums, and rum drinks. I'd be hard pressed to pick my one booze of choice. I think, when pressed, that if I had to pick just one, it would be a Belgian Dubbel beer. To me that's just food. When it comes to distilled spirits, it would be a tough choice between a great Tequila or a great Rum...

So what's your booze of choice?
Mario Proulx

Re: Your Booze of Choice

Post by Mario Proulx »

I;m not a fan of wines.... Distilled spirits, though...! I like a good, dark, full flavored rum. I like a Scotch that's very heavy on peat. Blended Scotch is a no-go... Irish whiskey can be good. Bourbon could easily be a favorite, but it needs to be strong. Knob Creek comes to mind..

I dislike all vodka and tequila. And gin. Mehates gin.... Tastes like Christmas trees...

In short, if I'm not knocking-back a dark stout poured from my fridge's tap, I'm most likely sippin' a dark rum. "Old Monk" if I can find it....!
Jason Rodgers

Post by Jason Rodgers »