Acoustic guitar Finishing advice

TEST ON SCRAP FIRST! If your question is about repair work, either regluing or refinishing, please post it in our Repair Section.
Jonathan Cressman

Acoustic guitar Finishing advice

Post by Jonathan Cressman »

Hello everyone!

I am new to guitar building, am just nearing the end of my first build (a steel string acoustic), and am trying to decide how to finish it.
I've done a fair bit of research, but have found many things quite confusing, and so am hoping for some guidance. I should preface that I am looking for a finish that doesn't require spraying equipment, as I don't have it.

So, after much research, I have come up with two options, Brite tone top coat by crystal lac, and Royal-lac super blonde. Just wondering if anybody has any feedback about if either of these is more forgiving to work with (I have very little experience finishing), or any general advice about the products?

And I also have a couple specific questions. Both of these products have a complimentary sealer product that the respective companies make (CrystaLac sanding sealer to accompany the Brite Tone, and Seal lac to accompany the royal lac). My understanding is that I need to get the sealer for whichever product I choose, and apply a couple coats of it to properly prepare my guitar for the top coat products. However, I have also heard a lot about pore fillers, and am somewhat confused, as some people make it sound like a sealer product (like either of the two I mentioned) will act as a pore filler as well, but some people make it seem like you need to have a separate pore filler, making it a three step process, with a pore filler, sealer, and top coat. just wondering if anyone can clear this confusion up for me? Do I need a separate pore filler, or is just the sealer good enough? My guitar has a cedar top, and cherry back and sides, so not very porous woods.

Thanks, any advice is greatly appreciated!!

- Jonathan
Barry Daniels