Rasps on sale @ StewMac

Questions about tools and jigs you want to buy/build/modify.
Steve Sawyer

Rasps on sale @ StewMac

Post by Steve Sawyer »

I once had the pleasure of using an Auriou rasp. They run about twice what these Dragon rasps cost, and IMO don't cut a bit better. I got the large fine (4152?) a couple of years ago and would not part with it.

Absolutely fabulous. Highly recommended.

Unfortunately, these seem to have crept up quite a bit, or I bought mine when they were on sale, but I just ordered a double-radius fine as it will come in handy for my current build.

https://www.stewmac.com/Luthier_Tools/T ... _Rasp.html
==Steve==
Mark Fogleman

Re: Rasps on sale @ StewMac

Post by Mark Fogleman »

Japanese Uo Chikyu Nut files also a good deal. Set of 8 for $65
https://www.grizzly.com/products/Uo-Chi ... RweeG3u4j0
Peter Wilcox

Post by Peter Wilcox »

I have this set: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B07 ... =UTF8&th=1

I'm just a hobbyist so can't justify expensive tools. The price is right, they cut fast and smooth, and certainly fill my needs.
Maybe I can't fix it, but I can fix it so no one can fix it
Steve Sawyer

Post by Steve Sawyer »

Peter Wilcox wrote:I have this set: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B07 ... =UTF8&th=1

I'm just a hobbyist so can't justify expensive tools. The price is right, they cut fast and smooth, and certainly fill my needs.
Those look to be a great value, Peter!

I too am just a hobbyist, but having been a woodworker for over 40 years, I've finally learned my lesson re quality tools, having spent way too much on tools that get "upgraded" when I discover their limitations. As your example shows though, quality doesn't always have to mean expensive. I have several (non-woodworking) tools from Harbor Freight that have served me well.
==Steve==
Gordon Bellerose

Post by Gordon Bellerose »

I have these from Lee Vallay.
They are not the cheapest, but they are WAY less expensive than the Ariou rasps.