bandsaw blade question

Questions about tools and jigs you want to buy/build/modify.
Simon Magennis

bandsaw blade question

Post by Simon Magennis »

I have a small "hobby" type bandsaw. The blade is 1790mm - 70.5 inches. The blade delivered with it was 3/8" x 6tpi. The blade has broken so I need to replace it. (I reckon if would be easy to fix but I don't have the means and don't know anyone local who does it). I am in a relatively isolated area in Europe which limits options.

The original was 3/8"x 6tpi. My immediate feeling is just order a direct replacement as being "good enough" for general use. So the question is, is there any reason why a different blade would be better?

I will order a couple of blades. I am a bandsaw newbie so I am still feeling my way. The saw is only for cutting out backs and tops and other small things such as bits of wood for jigs and occasional chunks of plywood or mdf for making soleras or bits and pieces for the house. So there are two requirements: cut reasonably straight when needed and cut guitar type curves in backs and tops and occasionally in mdf/plywood for soleras.

The choice from the original supplier is 4,6,10, 14, 24 tpi
And widths 1/4, 3/8, 1/2 inches.

This is the supplier.
(https://www.axminster.co.uk/bandsaw-bla ... =AWHBS250N)
Brian Evans

Re: bandsaw blade question

Post by Brian Evans »

I bit the bullet and now have several different blades. I use a 1/4" 8 tpi toothed blade when I cut curves, and a 1/2" 4 TPI when I resaw. I use a metal cutting blade when I cut aluminium. When resawing it's important to have not only a wide blade for stability, but also few TPI so the blade can clear sawdust and chips better.
JC Whitney

Post by JC Whitney »

The rule of thumb I was taught for choosing tpi was to always have at least 3 teeth in contact with the material you're cutting, and it's served me well through the years.
JC Whitney

Post by JC Whitney »