Maple log

Ask your wood and other materials questions here. Please DO NOT post pictures and ask us to identify your wood, we have found that accurate ID is nearly impossible, and such discussions will be deleted. Thanks.
Andy Bounsall

Maple log

Post by Andy Bounsall »

I received a query from someone I don’t know to ask if I could make a guitar from a chunk of maple. Turns out the “chunk” is actually a hollow log that was harvested from a tree on his parents farm roughly 20 years ago. He says the wood has amazing quilt and Birdseye figure. Also, he says, bugs have bored some tiny holes in the wood. He sent me the pics below. As for scale, the log is apparently about 4-5 ft long and 20(ish) inches across. I’m no expert on logs so not sure how he can tell what kind of figure the wood has. Told him I’m not equipped to mill a log but I may know someone who could mill it into usable lumber. So question to anyone with relevant experience...is the lumber from a 20 year old log usable or would it need to be left to dry first?
Attachments
3F3E88FF-3A7C-445D-A5C4-9124886F109A.jpeg
D9856954-AB64-4FBF-B155-92507F2116D5.jpeg
C4A03DCB-3803-4E00-A247-7AB29F90887A.jpeg
90E04A5C-571D-4D43-B0C3-D03E285DD536.jpeg
Barry Daniels

Re: Maple log

Post by Barry Daniels »

Is this an April fool's joke?

I am willing to take on some pretty risky projects, but I wouldn't touch that with a 10 foot hollow pole.
MIMF Staff
Andy Bounsall

Post by Andy Bounsall »

Thanks for the sanity check Barry.
Heard from him again about what he is looking for and it gets even crazier. I’m definitely not going down this road.
Barry Daniels

Post by Barry Daniels »

Please tell us the full crazy request.
MIMF Staff
Alan Carruth

Post by Alan Carruth »