Basic questions on making a bukkehorn

Jeremy Allison

Basic questions on making a bukkehorn

Post by Jeremy Allison »

Hello,

I'm a novice and am admittedly in over my head, but I've been researching building a bukkehorn.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bukkehorn

I came to this forum because I was researching the cornetto family of instruments and came across references to your forum's spreadsheet tool:

http://www.mimf.com/old-lib/pub/cornetto.zip

which was mentioned in the MIMF Library here:

http://www.mimf.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=921

Anyway, here is a video [15min, no narration] of a bukkehorn instrument being made:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ft0i_2yfGM

Its rather boring, but 4:50 you can see him place the finger holes without any measurement, he seems to do it all bye eye. By 10:20 he works on the holes a bit more, apparently making adjustments.

So my basic questions are:

-will the cornetto spreadsheet tool be at all relevant to making a bukkehorn? If so, how do I begin to read it?
-what is the basic method for hole placement on a curved wind instrument? Measure along the inside curve, center, or outside curve?

Of course I've found some basic resources on tone hole spacing and design in other straight wind instruments, but i did not know if the cornetto spreadsheet was relevant, or if I'm missing other big concepts that are relevant.

Thanks for your patience and I understand if no one has the time to respond. Even if you just take the time to give me google search terms, book names, or articles to look up I would appreciate it.
Jim McConkey

Re: Basic questions on making a bukkehorn

Post by Jim McConkey »