Public musical instrument installation-- help!

Natalia Olbinski

Public musical instrument installation-- help!

Post by Natalia Olbinski »

Hello!

I am working on a conceptual project, a musical park, as a proposal for an unused space in an up-and-coming cultural district of Warsaw, Poland. The space is surrounded by a science center, music academy, and The Chopin Museum, thus thematically a musical "playground" fits in very well. Unfortunately the deadline for the proposal is in exactly one month from today, so I am pressed for time. One of the ideas was to a pipe organ, which would be played by jumping on or squeezing hemispherical rubber elements placed in the ground and at hand height. Another instrument is a rotating metal harp.

I have no experience designing instruments and would love a professional opinion. I would like to have the proposal for it as accurate
as possible, especially when it comes to the design specifications of the instruments. So, general questions are as follows:
Are these at all feasible concepts? Are there things that I have neglected to consider? As this is a public installation and has to withstand weather conditions, how would that have an effect on the tuning?

Specific questions for instruments:

Pipe Organ: what is the best way to determine the heights and diameters of the individual pipes? Would it be detrimental to the sound to have the pipes welded together, or do they have to be separate?

Harp: Is there a rule to how large the resonating box in proportion to the size of the instrument overall? Does it need to be built in any specific way (one piece, or several pieces fastened together w/ screws?) Any help on tuning is also welcome as I am confused about it in general.

Thank you so much in advance for the advice!
Attachments
PublicOrgans3.jpg
PublicOrgan2_.jpg
PublicOrgan2_.jpg (74.62 KiB) Viewed 18562 times
PublicOrgan1_.jpg
PublicOrgan1_.jpg (71.72 KiB) Viewed 18562 times
Charlie Schultz
Site Admin