Bracing on the soundboard too short

If you have a string instrument of any kind that needs fixing, a mistake you made in building a new instrument that you need to "disappear," or a question about the ethics of altering an older instrument, ask here. Please note that it will be much easier for us to help you decide on the best repair method if you post some pictures of the problem.
Anthony Bradshaw

Bracing on the soundboard too short

Post by Anthony Bradshaw »

Hi folks
This is my first post as I am a newby. I am currently (attempting) to build my first
guitar which is based on the G J200 jumbo. I never new that making an instrument can
be so rewarding. I am new to woodworking but have joined a wood shed and they have
all the tools required to make a guitar. Never having posted before I'm not 100 % sure
I am doing this right but I have a problem. I have braced the back of the soundboard and
have realized that the bracing is not long enough to fit into the top of the sides when I get
to closing the box. Is there an easy solution? Can I extend the braces by adding wood
or is that a really dumb question. I would really appreciate any help. Cheers.
Attachments
Bracing too short_resized (2).jpg
Barry Daniels

Re: Bracing on the soundboard too short

Post by Barry Daniels »

Which braces are too short and how short are they? Some of them look fine. If it's the upper transverse brace or even the X-brace then just replace them. It's not too hard to do if you have a small plane and some extra brace stock.

Would it be possible to support the end of the braces with small buttresses glued to the rims? There is probably a picture around here of buttresses on a classical guitar because it is not unheard of.
MIMF Staff
Anthony Bradshaw

Hi Barry
I think both ideas sound great. Thank you for you response.
Cheers
Tony
Bryan Bear

Post by Bryan Bear »