modifying a beatle bass into a beatle guitar using tele hardware

If you have a string instrument of any kind that needs fixing, a mistake you made in building a new instrument that you need to "disappear," or a question about the ethics of altering an older instrument, ask here. Please note that it will be much easier for us to help you decide on the best repair method if you post some pictures of the problem.
Jedi Clampett

modifying a beatle bass into a beatle guitar using tele hardware

Post by Jedi Clampett »

I am pretty new at all this, having made several solid body electric guitars, but I buy necks, have limited facility and tools and endless dreams and imagination.
So, I got a beatle bass body from guitar fetish for $20 and want to convert it into a guitar using telecaster hardware, technically would be an esquire since only using the bridge pickup. I think these bodies are used for Jay Turser and Rogue Musician Friend Beatle basses and are beat up.

The pic is taken from a hofner video that shows the interior, I assume it is the same for mine.
So this is a hollow body with an arched top.
I measured for a 24.5" scale for the bridge and have to bring the neck way into the body, so will be cutting off aprox 6" of the top of the body so all that area that tapers into the neck will be cut off.

I plan to remove the top and put blocks under the bridge area and the neck area and so can use my Stewmac plastic neck cavity template to route for a fender style neck. I am either looking for some encouragement or ideas?

Basically remove arch top-put in block supports- glue new flat top back on- route for neck and mount bridge.