Building a bowlback mandolin

If it's not a guitar or a bass guitar discussion, and it's got strings, put it here.
Paul Montgomery

Building a bowlback mandolin

Post by Paul Montgomery »

I've built a few simple instruments but I'm finally stretching myself and attempting a bowlback mandolin. I have a lot of wood working experience but this looks like a challenge.

I used to take photographs of my projects but for the last few months I've been learning how to do video and so I've just finished the first video of some prep work that I've been doing. I fully expect this to take a while, but I'll keep this thread updated as I progress, and I gladly invite any advice along the way.

TIA

Paul M

http://openwoodshop.com/instruments/mandolinprep1.php
Christ Kacoyannakis

Re: Building a bowlback mandolin

Post by Christ Kacoyannakis »

I have built several Greek bouzoukis, which are basically a bowl back mandolin with a longer neck. I built my first one in 1980, with the help of a local lute maker. There are a few things you need to adjust. On a lute, the bowl is basically a semicircle in cross section. On a mandolin, the bowl is not semicirclular. There is a flat section at the very back (so it sits flatter on your stomach), then it makes a sharp turn with a flatter side leading into a wide rib at the top of the bowl, where it meets the soundboard, which allows the instrument to sit on your leg without slipping around so much.

The key thing to remember is that the sections of the bowl (the ribs) are liking slicing a pear in wedges. You slice straight down, and it doesn't matter the shape or curvature of the pear skin, the edge of that slice is flat.

I documented a bouzouki build on my blog, www.kacoyannakis.com/blog that you might want to check out. Feel free to ask me any questions. I would be glad to help you any way I can.
Paul Montgomery

Very cool blog. I'll definately be coming back to that, thanks.

Paul M
Clay Schaeffer

Post by Clay Schaeffer »