Hammered dulcimer soundboard question

If it's not a guitar or a bass guitar discussion, and it's got strings, put it here.
Kevin Kemp

Hammered dulcimer soundboard question

Post by Kevin Kemp »

I'm fairly new at building music instruments. I'm currently building my third acoustic guitar and I'm building a hammered dulcimer. For the dulcimer, I'm using the 17/16 plans from harpkit.com. It seems a lot of folks think baltic birch ply would make a decent soundboard. Harpkit.com says plywood isn't strong enough, yet spruce, cedar, and redwood is strong enough. Really?! Btw their kit, which is based on the same plans comes with 3/8 " mahogany. I can buy a mahogany soundboard from them for Us$150. I bought 3/8 baltic birch ply to use for the soundboard. Btw, this dulcimer has a fixed soundboard. I almost forgot, i have a spruce soundboard i salvaged from an old piano, but it's only 1/4" thick. Probably too thin.

At this point, I'm not sure what to do. Also, i plan to start learning to play the HD, and an entry level HD will be fine. Should i use the birch ply, or use something else. Oh, and so far i have not found a source of wood for a soundboard other than the one from harpkit.

Thanks for any advice,
Kevin
Charlie Schultz
Site Admin

Re: Hammered dulcimer soundboard question

Post by Charlie Schultz »

How thick is the ply?

I've used 1/4" mahogany on a 13/13 (fixed soundboard) and 1/4" redwood on a 14/15 (floating soundboard).

If the soundboard covers the tuning and hitch pin holes, softwoods (like spruce) will be a little harder to drill clean holes in. On my first one,

If you have a local wood shop, you might see if they can glue up and thickness a soundboard for you.
Kevin Kemp

Post by Kevin Kemp »