- 12/11 string Hammer Dulcimer problem

If it's not a guitar or a bass guitar discussion, and it's got strings, put it here.
Richard Stone

- 12/11 string Hammer Dulcimer problem

Post by Richard Stone »

I bought the Alan Carruth “Plan #4 Hammer Dulcimer, 12/11, 69 sting” plan and just finished stringing with a few needed adjustments to make it work. My dilemma is that the outside bridges have moved inward with the tension of all the strings, both treble and the base outside bridges. Thinking this may be an issue early on I had taped small blocks on instrument body to hold bridges ‘til they were set with the downward pressure of the strings, but alas the string tension has slid the bridges anyway. There's a LOT of tension inward, so is there any solution to this problem??? I need help. I am a retired furniture builder so I have some understanding of the woodworks, but need help with this problem. Anything would be appreciated!!!
Dylan Ball

Re: - 12/11 string Hammer Dulcimer problem

Post by Dylan Ball »

I'm not an expert but just suggesting. If your side bridges have a higher rise from the soundboard, glue at least 3 - 3/16" thickness hardwood blocks down in front of it after its aligned properly. blocks will definitely hold those bridges in place (if there glued). Make sure the strings do not make contact with the blocks. The only thing I would really worry about is the position of the treble and bass bridge. I still have know idea how to get those positioned correctly.
Nic Hambas

Post by Nic Hambas »