When to bind the body?

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including "disappearing" errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Steve Sawyer

When to bind the body?

Post by Steve Sawyer »

I have a body that I'll be routing sometime in the next week for pickups, switch cover and control cover.

I've practiced installing binding on scrap to get the feel of the process, but this is my first build that is actually using binding and I'm uncertain where in the build process it should be done - before or after routing for the neck mortise? Or are there other alternatives like routing the binding ledge, then actually installing the binding at some later step in the process?

Thanks!
==Steve==
Freeman Keller

Re: When to bind the body?

Post by Freeman Keller »

Frankly it doesn't matter. Like everything else, you should do it before something happens that might make it difficult - for example a hole in the side that the follower bit will dive into will totally screw up the binding. Jack holes in the side and/or crossing the neck pocket. You probably aren't doing an end graft but you definitely want to carve that channel after you have routed for the binding.

I typically route my binding channels right before I'm going to install the binding so they don't get damaged. Most of the time that is after the top and back are glued to the sides, the cavities are routed, the neck pocket is routed and the neck has been at least roughly fit. Important considerations are how the binding works at the neck pocket (does it disappear or have some sort of finish binding), whether you are doing a butt graft (and any mitering). Fwiw - I think it is better to have to scrape a few thousands of binding down to wood rather than the other way around, but I still like it as flush as possible.
Steve Sawyer

Post by Steve Sawyer »