installing frets with a chisel rather than a saw?

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including "disappearing" errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Claude Misukiewicz

installing frets with a chisel rather than a saw?

Post by Claude Misukiewicz »

Hello folks,

On a lap steel build, I'm thinking about using fret wire, which I've never used before. I'm not using a separate fret board, so I can't use a fret saw (because the neck is wider than the fret board would be). So I'm wondering whether I could make slots in the right places with a fine chisel and then hammer the fret wire in place with some super glue?
Could that work?

On the other hand, maybe I could do the same thing with flat jewelry wire. Inlay it and sand it flat, which sounds appealing to me. Any advice for that approach?

Thanks for any advice or comments.
Best wishes,
Claude
Barry Daniels

Re: installing frets with a chisel rather than a saw?

Post by Barry Daniels »

Using a chisel to do fret slots would require very fine work. Can you chisel a straight slot that is 0.025" wide and about 0.075" deep with straight walls? I'm not sure I could do that.

Since this is a lap steel you don't actually need frets sticking up do you? I think what you actually want are fret markers that are flush with the fretboard, right? Those are usually done with flat jewelry wire (like you suggested) or plastic purling. These are glued into slots and then leveled.

I think your issue is trying to cut a blind slot in a wider board. That is usually done with a dremel or a fret saw that has been shortened. Here is a link to a photo at StewMac.

http://www.stewmac.com/Luthier_Tools/To ... t_Saw.html