top mounted pots

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including "disappearing" errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Greg Kindig

top mounted pots

Post by Greg Kindig »

Hello,
I am new to this forum. I have made several stringed instruments over the past 40 years. I have a lot of woodworking experience. I am now retired and getting into electrics. I recently made a solid body baritone ukulele. I am in the planning stages for some full size solid body electric guitars.
I would like to top mount the volume and tone pots. By that I mean no cavity on the back of the guitar. I would mount the pots in a top recess, say a 1" diameter hole, insert the pot, attach with screws or glue, and hide it with an oversize knob, say 1-1/2" diameter. Wire chases would be angled holes connecting to the other components or long side drilled holes that would later be plugged with matching wood.
Any experience, success, or downfalls with my method would be appreciated. Thank you
Peter Wilcox

Re: top mounted pots

Post by Peter Wilcox »

The first problem I see with that is attaching the pot to the guitar. That attachment, and the pot casing itself, will take all the stress applied to the knob, acting as a lever arm and prone to tearing off with a push or bump. A better way, since you are going to use an oversize knob, would be to make an aluminum or sheet metal disk the size of the knob or slightly smaller, mount the pot in a hole in that in the usual manner, and then mount the disk with several screws around the edge, to the guitar.

Additionally, if you glue the pot to the guitar inside the hole, if you have to change the pot it could be difficult.

If you're going to have a tone control, you need to make sure there's room for the capacitor somewhere.