Newbie onboard!

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including "disappearing" errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Brian Fluker

Newbie onboard!

Post by Brian Fluker »

Hello! I'm pretty new to this game... Only finished 2 builds in the last 1 1/2 years (bodies only, not confident enough to try a neck yet). I have no real woodworking experience and lack a lot of the proper tools so there is a lot of trial and error to troubleshoot problems, but all in all I'm pretty satisfied with my results.

I've been lurking on this site the last few days and the instruments you guys crank out are spectacular! I really look forward to learning from this community and pushing myself to get better!
Attachments
build 2: thin 1 1/2" body.  Cuban mahogany (hurricane wood) with a maple cap.  Duncan jb with series/parallel/split switching via 3-way.  hand cut wood pickguard.
build 2: thin 1 1/2" body. Cuban mahogany (hurricane wood) with a maple cap. Duncan jb with series/parallel/split switching via 3-way. hand cut wood pickguard.
the guts
the guts
First build: chambered walnut body with mahogany top, loaded with a lace deathbucker
First build: chambered walnut body with mahogany top, loaded with a lace deathbucker
Barry Daniels

Re: Newbie onboard!

Post by Barry Daniels »

Welcome Brian. You definitely need to make a neck. Once you do one you will wonder why it was so scary in the first place.
MIMF Staff
Gordon Bellerose

Post by Gordon Bellerose »

Welcome to the forum Brian!
Lots of good people and info here. Stick around.

Yeah I agree with Barry. I also bought my first two necks.
Since then I have built them all, and in the process learned how to do inlay, overlay headstocks with very thin pieces of wood, and so much more.
I need your help. I can't possibly make all the mistakes myself!
Brian Fluker

Post by Brian Fluker »