Tap Tuning

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including fixing errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Shane Heinrich

Tap Tuning

Post by Shane Heinrich »

Hello everyone.I am rather new to lutherie and was hoping I could get some help.I have built two acoustic and five solid body electrics.I'm currently trying to learn more about tap tuning.I have read The Art Of Tap Tuning and it's been helpful.Where can I find information about the tunings of different guitar body types?
Charlie Schultz
Site Admin

Re: Tap Tuning

Post by Charlie Schultz »

Hi Shane and welcome! Note that we're primarily just testing the new forum software now, so your post might get better answered on our active site (http://www.mimf.com/cgi-bin/WebX). But someone may come along with some tips- I know there are many opinions of tap tuning.
Dick (DT) Trottier

Post by Dick (DT) Trottier »

Hi Shane,

I spent time looking for the same thing, some magic recipe, about five years ago with no luck. For me, tap tuning turned into an iterative thing, at first building to dimension and noting the pitch of different braces, then, on subsequent instruments, tweaking those pitches to intervals, full tones or semi-tones. Experiments were interesting, and the results were typically trade offs. For example, loosening the upper finger braces (lowering the pitch) gave a super warm tone but projection went way down.

In retrospect, I'm glad that there was no tap tuning recipe out there.... it keeps things interesting.

Good luck in your quest...
Simon Magennis

Post by Simon Magennis »

Shane Heinrich wrote:Where can I find information about the tunings of different guitar body types?
Kind of reminds me a bit about a joke concerning the lawns in Trinity College Dublin (which in fact were nothing very special).
Tourist: "How do you get the lawns to look so green?".