Opinions please. Pitbull Bass Kit

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including fixing errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Alan Block

Opinions please. Pitbull Bass Kit

Post by Alan Block »

I have been asked to build a bass for my son. All my experience is in accoutstic instruments and he wants a solid body 5 string fretless bass. Has anyone used a Pitbull kit or know whether a decent instrument can be made from their product.
Freeman Keller

Re: Opinions please. Pitbull Bass Kit

Post by Freeman Keller »

I have no experience with that brand (that I know of) but when I see a guitar or bass kit for 125 or 150 or 200 dollars I really start to wonder. I have been asked to work on a couple of no name PacRim guitar kits that customers have bought off the internet - I've been singularly unimpressed.

Why don't you consider making your own from scratch. Melvyn Hiscock has a good description of building a thru body bass as one of his three electric guitars (the others are a set neck and bolted neck). If you pay attention to the geometry a solid body instrument is about 500 percent easier than an acoustic guitar (I've built four solid bodies, a bunch of acoustic and hollow bodies). You can order a nice neck from Warmoth or StewMac if you don't want to make your own (again, my experience with PacRim necks like I see in the Pitbull kits has been pretty dismal).
Bob Gramann

Post by Bob Gramann »

I second Freeman’s statement. Making a solid body instrument from scratch is not difficult. And, you will end up with a much higher quality instrument than from one of those kits. Your biggest problem will be figuring out what you want and designing it. Following Freeman’s statement on geometry, build it on paper completely before you cut any wood. I love fretless basses.
Clay Schaeffer

Post by Clay Schaeffer »