Fret Crown Profile

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including fixing errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Stephen Silva

Fret Crown Profile

Post by Stephen Silva »

I am fingerstyle acoustic player of 40 years and have toyed around with saddles and nuts over the years, both with regard to designs and shapes, as well as materials. Recently I have decided to level and crown the frets on a few of my acoustics. Being a mechanical engineer, I have become highly interested in the optimum profile of the fret tops. There seems to be little information on the best profile and how to achieve it. I am wondering if anybody out there pays any attention to this, or if it matters much. I have made a small sanding fixture out of scrap cherry, that allows me to create the pitch toward the string contact point. I have tried 20 and 30 degrees from horizontal, using 220 and 320 grit paper double stick taped to the fixture. I was considering trying an even steeper angle of 45 degrees. I leave a tiny hairline in the top-center of the fret before rounding up and down the fingerboard with 320 around my finger, up through 3M micron polishing grades.
Gordon Bellerose

Re: Fret Crown Profile

Post by Gordon Bellerose »

I will first tell you that I have never measured angles when I am crowning frets. I do not get that technical.
What I aim for is a rounded fret top. with the crown dead center of the fret.
This gives me the accuracy required so notes are not flat, or sharp.
The next thing is comfort.
Being a player of 40 years, you know that comfort on the fret board is extremely important.
There can be no sharp fret ends, and your hand should glide up and down the fret board.
For me, this means nicely rounded, smooth edges everywhere. I do not want a knife edge.