Help! Advice Needed...Arrghhh!

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including fixing errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
DJ Parker

Help! Advice Needed...Arrghhh!

Post by DJ Parker »

Ok,

So, many of you have seen my posts (however few I have done) and some of you know that I am new at this and maybe this is just called 'paying my dues' but it is frustrating. I am building my second Gypsy style instrument and have noticed that the 14th fret falls short of the body. Of course I have glued the FB to the neck a little too high and must have slid. Worse yet, the 14th appears to be slightly slanted. I can't tell if it is the neck, the FB, the fret slots when they were cut or what. I have not glued the neck on.

After the mortise and tenon were cut I chiseled a little on the inner part of the heal to center things up with the body and I believe that I did that as most of your might do it by sloping the inner heal slightly towards the tenon and then pulling sandpaper beneath the heal to adjust the neck's sideways position. If I'm wrong please let me know.

My questions:

1. If the 14th or 12th fret doesn't fall on the body joint is that a 'do over'? OR, does the scale length just become unique provided it isn't too far off?

2. It is not my intention to make a 'fan' fret but again, if the fret line appears tapered from the body is there hope? OR does this simply change how I would shape the bridge? It is slight but I would things to intonate.

3. I'm not sure where things went wrong...any thoughts? Can I salvage this guitar?

4. OR am I just a newbie and should I chock this up to the learning curve?

Thanks everyone.

DJ

3. Should I chock this up to
Attachments
image2.JPG
image2.JPG (48.41 KiB) Viewed 5432 times
image1.JPG
image1.JPG (43.03 KiB) Viewed 5432 times
Clay Schaeffer

Re: Help! Advice Needed...Arrghhh!

Post by Clay Schaeffer »