New Builders' miniFAQ

"New Builder's miniFAQ", "Going full-time pro miniFAQ", "Buzz FAQ", "Posting photos", Interviews. The MIMF library is also available to registered and logged in members.
Charlie Schultz
Site Admin

New Builders' miniFAQ

Post by Charlie Schultz »

Building a musical instrument is an incredibly rewarding experience. But it can be very frustrating, too. We've attempted to answer some of the most commonly asked questions here to help make your trip from asking to building as short as possible. Remember: every single one of us, pro or hobbyist, was once where you are now.

Q. I want to build a musical instrument. I want it to be perfect on my first try even though I have no experience as a woodworker or instrument maker. Tell me everything I need to know.
A. Your first instrument will not be perfect, and if you expect it to be you're setting yourself up for disappointment. That doesn't mean it won't be an instrument you're proud of! We really can't tell you everything you need to know about building a clarinet or a violin or a dreadnought guitar, or any other complex musical instrument. People have written entire books on the subjects, and with good reason. There's a lot to learn when you're building a fine instrument. It's just not feasible for us to answer these types of impossibly broad questions on an online forum. You need to buy or borrow some good books (don't forget to make use of Inter-Library Loan), and read those books carefully. We make books available in our Bookstore, and your purchase there helps support the MIMForum. Register as a member of the MIMForum and browse our Library on subjects of interest to you. Follow discussions on the MIMForum.

Q. I know nothing about woodworking. How do I build an instrument out of wood?