What finish is best/safe to use over artists oils?

TEST ON SCRAP FIRST! If your question is about repair work, either regluing or refinishing, please post it in our Repair Section.
Tony Brown

What finish is best/safe to use over artists oils?

Post by Tony Brown »

Hello,
I am new to this forum. I hope to find my answer here as I have not been able to find it anywhere else. I am a hobby builder, and I am currently working on a custom telecaster Merle Haggard tribute guitar. I just got the body back from paint and it looks fantastic. It was painted with Winton oil by Winsor & Newton mixed with linseed oil. My question is, what is the best choice of finish that is durable enough for regular play, while not adversely affecting tone, and will not harm the artwork during application? I have never attempted this type of finish before, and apparently neither has anyone else that I can find. :D The paint dose have some texture to it which is ok as I am going for a somewhat aged, preferably satin finish.

Can anyone help me?
Clay Schaeffer

Re: What finish is best/safe to use over artists oils?

Post by Clay Schaeffer »

You might consider using an "oil" varnish. I think some people like Pratt and Lambert #38 while others like Epiphanes. Whatever you do, test it on scrap first and limit brushing when applying the first coat so as not to soften and move around the painting underneath.
Barry Daniels

Post by Barry Daniels »

Yep, they used to coat oil paintings with oil varnish. It should be compatible. And it does come in semi-gloss.
MIMF Staff
Ed Minch

Post by Ed Minch »

My fall back for a long time has been shellac. Shellac sticks to everything and everything sticks to shellac. (I have never used any high-tech finishes other than water based varnishes).

Ed
Tony Brown

Post by Tony Brown »

Thanks Ed,