Single phase, 3 phase power tools in Australia

Questions about tools and jigs you want to buy/build/modify.
Clifton fynn

Single phase, 3 phase power tools in Australia

Post by Clifton fynn »

Hi guys

Im a hobbyist newbie so need some direction. I’m considering having a go at building a guitar body, I did an apprenticeship in carpentry so have an intermediate level understanding of working with wood and tools. I was thinking of purchasing specific tools (to setup in my garage) like a drill press, jointer/planer ect but a lot of these tools require 3phase power my house only has single phase power, can anyone please offer an alternative or point me in the direction of tools that I can use that run on single phase power that I can run in my garage. Thanks in advance
Daryl Kosinski

Re: Single phase, 3 phase power tools in Australia

Post by Daryl Kosinski »

3 phase machine tools in the used market can be had for much less than the same in single phase.

A 3 phase converter may be the way to go. You can build a rotary converter yourself out of a larger 3 phase motor or buy one ready made.

This 5 hp should take care of a small wood shop.

https://www.southern-tool.com/store/ar_ ... verter.php
Brian Evans

Post by Brian Evans »