Complexity is the Enemy of...

Questions about tools and jigs you want to buy/build/modify.
Eric Knapp

Complexity is the Enemy of...

Post by Eric Knapp »

Hello,

I'm suffering from something that might be common. As a rookie I'm always trying to do things in a way that is too complicated. For example, I'm about to start working on my fifth way to make a compound radius fretboard. I just finished making number 4. It's a router-based system that might even work but is too fussy to get accurate. StewMac suggests using multiple sanding blocks and I think I'll try that next. I don't have a budget for buying the sanding blocks so I'm going to attempt to make a batch with some salvaged 2x4s. I don't have a big stationary belt sander like many of the YouTube videos show to use. I also don't have any metal-working equipment. I have several routers so I tried using those.

This complexity complex is very common in the software development world. My students sometimes come up with the most convoluted and complicated solutions for projects I assign. When they see my solutions they are amazed at how simple and clear they are. I got that skill from many decades of full-time experience. I might be doomed to convolution as a guitar maker.

Is there any hope for me?

-Eric
Bryan Bear

Re: Complexity is the Enemy of...

Post by Bryan Bear »