2 Single Coils, 4-way switch, with Phase

Pickups, magnets, microphones, amps, speakers, cabs, whatever...
Samuel Hartpence

2 Single Coils, 4-way switch, with Phase

Post by Samuel Hartpence »

Hello,

Inspired by the Improving the Telecaster Thread, I'm hoping to drop in the maximum amount of versatility I can without getting as complicated as a Brian May or a Jazzmaster, and preserving the looks of a standard tele. I haven't found a wiring diagram for this, and am new two wiring. I'm assuming Greg can help me out with this but here's the basics:

Two traditional telecaster pickups (Golden Age pickups from the auction)
I'd like a 4-way switch for series and parallel outputs when both pickups are on (Not difficult)
I'd also like a push-pull pot for a phase shift if possible

The Seymour Duncan site has diagrams for both individually, but not the two options combined (and again I'm new to this so I don't know how to merge the two). I've also heard that there are pot manufactures that by-pass the pots completely (a relative 11 if you will). Does anyone have any information on those pots, how they perform and where I can get my hands on them?

Thanks!
Mark Swanson

Re: 2 Single Coils, 4-way switch, with Phase

Post by Mark Swanson »

That is actually pretty easy. First, use the regular diagram that you have for the 4 way switch and the series/parallel wiring- don't think about the phasing yet. After that's all set, then all you need to do is connect the push/pull switch to reverse the polarity of one of the pickups, which will put it out of phase with the other in one position.