Please check my wiring diagram: DiMarzio Super Switch

Pickups, magnets, microphones, amps, speakers, cabs, whatever...
Jason Rodgers

Please check my wiring diagram: DiMarzio Super Switch

Post by Jason Rodgers »

I call upon the masters of guitar electronics to check my wiring diagram. I will be wiring up two humbuckers I made with a DiMarzio 5-way Super Switch, and I want it to work like this...
Super 5 - Slugs n Blades.jpg
My understanding of this switch is elementary at best, but I studied this diagram to figure it out http://www.dimarzio.com/sites/default/f ... 112web.pdf

The change I made was to the 2 and 4 positions: from selecting inside/outside coils on positions 2 and 4 to top/bottom coils. The reason for this is the content of the pickups. The neck north and bridge south are slug coils wound with 43awg and carrying neodymium magnets; the neck south and bridge north are blade coils wound with 42awg and carrying ceramic8 magnets. This is an experiment, clearly, and I want to isolate the different types of coils because I have a feeling they're going to sound rather different. If they don't end up sounding particularly different, there are some other cool switching diagrams on the DiMarzio website.

Thanks for looking!
-Ruining perfectly good wood, one day at a time.
Eric Baack

Re: Please check my wiring diagram: DiMarzio Super Switch

Post by Eric Baack »

You ought to throw an out of phase combo on either 2 or 4 ;)

adds a nice quack!
Jason Rodgers

Post by Jason Rodgers »

I'll be honest, Eric, I have not played with out of phase or parallel switched pickups before, and thus my reluctance. I've noticed (on the website) that this is an option in position 4 on some Ibanez models, so folks must dig it.
Dan Smith

Post by Dan Smith »

Man, I wish the switch guys would draw switches in schematic form.
I cannot make heads or tails out of the diagram.
I use an ohm meter when wiring complex switches and make a schematic sketch.
I'd say wire it and experiment.